The countdown is on.


We are already able to count down to our departure in December.  Gosh, how fast did this year go???  I think I am the one mostly counting down, a bit of an occupational hazard since I am having to figure out how many school days are left.  Report card season is upon us again.  I have to say, this is really brutal.  I am not sure if it’s because I don’t usually teach grade 7 and 8 so that the reports are more extensive at those levels or whether it’s a function of the Victorian education system, but I am really feeling the need to get to the end the school year really soon.  The students are silly and tired and they forget we are tired too.  I spend a lot of my free time contacting parents to warn them their child’s results will not be as expected or I call to chase down a missing assignment.  Lunches and recesses are lost to students doing tests they’ve missed in the past weeks… you get the idea.  We have teachers working in our school this week who normally teach at the senior level, at the other campus.  Their students are mostly done their exams and they are showing it.  They are looking much more relaxed than we are and I was feeling rather resentful about that today.  I know, resentment takes energy that I don’t have to waste.

At any rate, things are moving very quickly around here.  We are trying to visit as many places as we can before December 22.  We have parties to attend (nice!) and clothes to sort so we can figure out what to pack and what to get rid of.  The days have been sunny and warmer and I haven’t worn socks in my shoes for at least 2 weeks.  I am not tanned but I do look a bit summery and I am trying to trim a few pounds off my middle aged butt.

Leon is away until Friday, visiting the Outback with his son.  I’ll meet them on that day and we’ll make our way to the south coast to drive along the Great Ocean Road.  We’ll be staying at hostels for 2 nights and hope to show Bradyn some koalas at Cape Otway.

It’s a little odd to think it’s almost Christmas as well.  I’ve bought some mini candy canes for my students to enjoy in the last week of school.  I will probably try to bake some gingerbread for a party or two and I might even make some shortbread cookies.  If you’re reading this in the Northern Hemisphere, that all sounds perfectly normal.  But to me, it’s a bit strange to have the oven on to bake cookies in 26C weather.  Around here, a good Christmas day might take place at a beach house, seafood might be on the menu and dessert would be a cool treat.  Sure they cook turkey here too though.

The only thing better than reading your comments is answering them. Leave a reply!

