A day of shopping


Went to town today for a few errands.  We bought a few kitchen gadgets, including a nice wok with 4 small soup bowls and spoons.  Now I can make that chicken long soup I learned to make in Fiji.  I also bought a jersey dress for school.  It was only $20, including tax.  That’s the thing around here, tax is part of the advertised price and they don’t tip.  So Leon’s haircut was $10, period.

I also had to call the utilities company.  Boy, their service is so much better and friendlier than ours.  We could learn a few things.

When we got home, there was a knock at the door and a nice friend of Donna’s, Sunny, came with a big smile, a card and a warm apple cake.  Not a bad welcome, eh?  Cake was delicious with a good cup of tea.  I started drinking tea with milk and sugar since I arrived in Fiji. It’s my new thing.

No plans for tomorrow.  We are just sorting out little details like bills, cellphones and tv signals.  The weather was cooler today and I should have worked on the garden some more, but I am a little tired of playing pin cushion for the mossies.  Maybe I’ll be more with it tomorrow.   It did pick some peaches from the yard to let ripen so I can make a fruit crisp,

On Wed, it’s Australia day.  We plan to take in the festivities in the town, then we are driving back to Melbourne for 2 nights.  I have a 2 day orientation there with the International Teaching Federation.  We are staying with another exchange teacher from Colorado.  It should be interesting conversation.  Pics and stories to follow.

The only thing better than reading your comments is answering them. Leave a reply!

